KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

COUNTY COUNCIL

MINUTES of an Honorary Alderman meeting of the County Council held in the Council Chamber, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Thursday, 10 March 2022.

PRESENT: Mrs L Game (Chairman), Mr G Cooke (Vice-Chairman) Mr N Baker, Mr M Baldock, Mr P V Barrington-King, Mr D Beaney, Mr C Beart, Mr A Booth, Mr A Brady, Mr D L Brazier, Mr C Broadley, Mr S R Campkin, Mr T Cannon. Miss S J Carev. Sir Paul Carter, CBE, Mrs S Chandler, Mr N J D Chard, Mr I S Chittenden, Mrs P T Cole, Mr P Cole, Ms K Constantine, Mr D Crow-Brown, Mr P C Cooper, Mr D S Daley, Mr M C Dance, Mrs T Dean, MBE, Mr M Dendor, Mr R W Gough, Ms K Grehan, Ms S Hamilton, Mr P M Harman, Mr P M Hill, OBE, Mr A R Hills, Mrs S V Hohler, Mr S Holden, Mr M A J Hood, Mrs S Hudson, Mr D Jeffrey, Mr A Kennedy, Mr J A Kite, MBE, Mr R C Love, OBE, Rich Lehmann. Mr B H Lewis. Mr S C Manion, Ms M McArthur. Mr J P McInroy, Ms J Meade, Mr J Meade, Mr D Murphy, Mr P J Oakford. Mr J M Ozog, Mrs L Parfitt-Reid, Mrs S Prendergast, Mr H Rayner, Mr O Richardson, Mr A M Ridgers, Mr D Robey, Mr D Ross, Mr T L Shonk, Mr C Simkins, Mr M J Sole, Mr P Stepto, Mr R G Streatfeild, MBE, Mr B J Sweetland. Mr R J Thomas. Dr L Sullivan. Mr D Watkins. Mr A Weatherhead, Mr S Webb and Mr J Wright

IN ATTENDANCE: Benjamin Watts (General Counsel) and Joel Cook (Democratic Services Manager)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

47. Apologies for Absence (Item 1)

The General Counsel reported apologies from Mr Paul Bartlett, Mrs Clair Bell, Mrs Rosalind Binks, Mr Trevor Bond, Mrs Becki Bruneau, Ms Mel Dawkins, Mr Anthony Hook, Mr Alan Marsh and Ms Linda Wright. Members were advised that Mr Collor was joining the meeting virtually.

48. Declarations of Disclosable Pecuniary Interests or Other Significant Interests in items on the agenda (Item 2)

No declarations were made.

49. Appointment of Honorary Aldermen (*Item 3*)

- (1) The Chairman offered a very warm welcome to the meeting to Mr George Koowaree and Mrs Paulina Stockell.
- (2) The Chairman stated that Mr Koowaree and Mrs Stockell had been regarded by Group Leaders as having given eminent service both to Kent County Council and the people of Kent.
- (3) The Chairman proposed and the Vice-Chairman seconded the motion that the nomination of Mr George Koowaree and Mrs Paulina Stockell for Honorary Aldermen be approved.
- (4) RESOLVED UNANIMOUSLY that Mr Koowaree and Mrs Stockell, distinguished former Members of Kent County Council, be awarded the status of Honorary Aldermen.
- (5) The Chairman then presented Mr Koowaree and Mrs Stockell with their Honorary Aldermen badges and scrolls.
- (6) Mr Koowaree and Mrs Stockell responded in their capacity as newly appointed Honorary Aldermen and expressed their thanks for the honour bestowed upon them by the County Council.